## Schedule 1

## High Density Centres and Intensive Corridors and Future Urban Areas

	Schedule 1A	Schedule 1B		
Growth Area Type	High Density Centres and Intensive	Future Urban Areas	TA initiating change	Date District Plan Changes are notified
	Corridors			
CBD (RT)	CBD		ACC	2005-2010
Sub Regional Centre (RT)	Newmarket		ACC	2005-2010
Sub Regional Centre (RT)	Otahuhu		ACC	2005-2010
Town Centre	Grey Lynn		ACC	2005-2010
Town Centre	Mt Wellington Quarry		ACC	2005-2010
Town Centre	Onehunga		ACC	2005-2010
Town Centre	Pt Chevalier		ACC	2005-2010
Town Centre	Remuera		ACC	2005-2010
Town Centre (RT)	Avondale		ACC	2005-2010
Town Centre (RT)	Ellerslie		ACC	2005-2010
Town Centre (RT)	Glen Innes		ACC	2005-2010
Town Centre (RT)	Mt Albert		ACC	2005-2010
Town Centre (RT)	Panmure		ACC	2005-2010
Sub Regional Centre (RT)	Sylvia Park		ACC	2005-2010
Future Urban Area		Pukekohe	FDC	2005-2010
Town Centre	Pukekohe		FDC	2005-2010
Future Urban Area		Flat Bush	МСС	2005-2010
Sub Regional Centre (RT)	Manukau City Centre		MCC	2005-2010
Town Centre	Hunters Corner		MCC	2005-2010
Town Centre	Mangere Town Centre		MCC	2005-2010
Town Centre	Otara		MCC	2005-2010
Town Centre	Pakuranga		MCC	2005-2010
Town Centre (RT)	Manurewa		MCC	2005-2010
Town Centre (RT)	Old Papatoetoe		MCC	2005-2010
Future Urban Area		Albany	NSCC	2005-2010
Future Urban Area		Long Bay	NSCC	2005-2010
Sub Regional Centre	Takapuna		NSCC	2005-2010
Sub Regional Centre (RT)	Albany Centre		NSCC	2005-2010
Town Centre	Browns Bay		NSCC	2005-2010
Town Centre	Glenfield		NSCC	2005-2010
Town Centre	Highbury		NSCC	2005-2010
Town Centre	Milford		NSCC	2005-2010
Town Centre	Northcote		NSCC	2005-2010

Town Centre	Mairangi Bay		NSCC	2005-2010
Future Urban Area		Hingaia Stage 1	PDC	2005-2010
Future Urban Area		Takanini (First Stages^)	PDC	2005-2010
Sub Regional Centre (RT)	Papakura		PDC	2005-2010
Future Urban Area		Silverdale North	RDC	2005-2010
Future Urban Area		Silverdale South	RDC	2005-2010
Future Urban Area		Orewa West	RDC	2005-2010
Sub Regional Centre	Orewa		RDC	2005-2010
Town Centre	Huapai		RDC	2005-2010
Town Centre	Warkworth		RDC	2005-2010
Future Urban Area		Massey North	WCC	2005-2010
Future Urban Area		Babich	WCC	2005-2010
Sub Regional Centre	Massey North		WCC	2005-2010
Sub Regional Centre (RT)	Henderson		WCC	2005-2010
Sub Regional Centre (RT)	New Lynn		WCC	2005-2010
Town Centre (RT)	Glen Eden		WCC	2005-2010
Future Urban Area		Warkworth #	RDC	2005-2016
Future Urban Area		Hobsonville Airbase	WCC	2005-2016
Future Urban Area		Kumeu / Huapai	RDC	2005-2020
Future Urban Area		Hobsonville Corridor (first stages)	WCC	2005-2020
Future Urban Area		Greenhithe	NSCC	2010-2015
Town Centre	Balmoral/Dominion		ACC	2011-2016
Town Centre	Mt Roskill		ACC	2011-2016
Town Centre	Royal Oak		ACC	2011-2016
Town Centre	Sandringham		ACC	2011-2016
Town Centre	SH 20/Stoddard Rd		ACC	2011-2016
Corridor	Lincoln Road		WCC	2011-2016
Town Centre	Te Atatu Peninsula		WCC	2011-2016
Town Centre (RT)	Ranui		WCC	2011-2016
Town Centre (RT)	Swanson		WCC	2011-2016
Town Centre	Botany		MCC	2017+
Town Centre (RT)	Homai		MCC	2017+
Town Centre (RT)	Middlemore		MCC	2017+
Town Centre	Favona		MCC	2017+
Town Centre (RT)	Te Mahia		MCC	2017+
Future Urban Area		Penihana	WCC	2005-2010
Future Urban Area		Hobsonville Peninsula	WCC	2020 +
Future Urban Area		Redhills	WCC	2020 +
Future Urban Area		Hingaia Stage 2	PDC	2015+
Future Urban Area		Takanini (Later Stages*)	PDC	2020+

Future Urban Area		Hobsonville Corridor	WCC	2020+
		(later stages)		
Future Urban Area		Wellsford	RDC	Subject to District Spatial
				Strategy
Future Urban Area		Snells / Algies	RDC	Subject to District Spatial
				Strategy
Future Urban Area		Riverhead	RDC	Subject to District Spatial
				Strategy
Future Urban Area		Helensville	RDC	Subject to District Spatial
				Strategy
**Town Centre	**Whangaparaoa		RDC	Already zoned for
				intensification
Corridor	Hobsonville Road		WCC	To be determined
Town Centre	Takanini		PDC	To be determined
Town Centre	Highland Park		MCC	To be determined
Town Centre	St Lukes		ACC	2005-2010
Future Urban Area		Clarks Beach	FDC	2005-2010
Future Urban Area		Kingseat	FDC	2005-2010
Future Urban Area		Waiuku		2005-2010

Notes:

- 1. (Re)development of the areas in schedules 1A & 1B are necessary to provide for growth until 2020.
- 2. (RT) Refers to those centres on the proposed Rapid Transit System for Auckland.
- 3. For more detail on implementation timing dates and spatial definitions of the areas listed above, please refer to District Plans and the Region's three Sector Agreements signed between 2001 and 2003.
- 4. Schedule 1 will be reviewed at the time related parts of the RPS are reviewed or when a related policy change is proposed. The review of Schedule 1 will consist of an assessment process to identify additional High Density Centres and Intensive Corridors and to further define their role and function. This assessment process will take into account their employment, economic, social, transport and land-use attributes. It may result in the inclusion of additional tiers within the hierarchy of centres or changes in terminology and, as a consequence, the reclassification of the existing Town Centres and Sub Regional Centres listed in Schedule 1.
- 5. Town Centre, Sub Regional Centre, High Density Centre, Intensive Corridor and Future Urban Area are defined in Appendix D. In accordance with the assessment process discussed in Note 4, additional tiers may in the future be added to the hierarchy of centres, in which case the existing centres and any new centres will be classified accordingly.
- 6. The timing of the growth areas listed above will be monitored via sections 2.8.1 to 2.8.4 of the RPS.
- 7. Schedule 1A & 1B will be reviewed in the RPS should the Regional Growth Strategy and/or the Sector Agreements be reviewed.
- 8. While this RPS focuses on providing for the next 20 years of development a large number of the areas identified above will be required to provide capacity for urban growth in a sustainable manner beyond 2020.
- 9. The growth areas listed and their indicative timings have largely been derived from the regions three sector Agreements signed between 2001 and 2003.
- 10. Takanini First Stages means Stages 1,2,3,6 and Spartan Rd.

- 11. Takanini Later Stages means Stages 4,5,7,8,9 and 10
- 12. The confirmation of the Whangaparaoa Town Centre as a High Density Centre in Schedule 1 is subject to suitable transport infrastructure, which may include Penlink, being in place. Penlink is the proposed road between the Whangaparaoa Peninsula and the Northern Motorway across the Weiti River. If suitable transport infrastructure is not put in place, intensification of the Whangaparaoa Town Centre, particularly residential intensification, as provided for in the Auckland Council District Plan (Rodney Section) may not be appropriate.
- 13. Warkworth contains 3 Future Urban Areas: McKinney Road, Woodcocks Road and Hudson Road.
- 14. Rodney District Council's Spatial Strategy due for completion by the end of 2005.
- 15. District Plans may contain additional intensification areas not listed in Schedule 1A that comply with Strategic Policies 2.6.5.
- ACC means Auckland City Council, FDC means Franklin District Council, MCC means Manukau City Council, NSCC means North Shore City Council, PDC means Papakura District Council, RDC means Rodney District Council and WCC means Waitakere City Council.
- 17. The timing of the district plan change for Hingaia Stage 2 has been brought forward in recognition of the shortage of business land in the Auckland region, particularly for appropriately zoned land to accommodate Land Extensive Industrial Activities. Before a district plan change can be advanced, further assessment needs to occur to address any issues associated with environmental effects and the cost and timing of infrastructure provision, including upgrades to the transport network.
- 18. For clarity it is recorded that Pararekau and Kopuahingahinga Islands do not form part of Hingaia Stage 2.