• Timeline of Female Elected Members
  • View Timeline of Auckland Mayors
  • View the Mayoral Chains Exhibition
About this timeline

2018 marks the 125th anniversary of women’s suffrage in New Zealand. On 19 September 1893, the Electoral Act 1893 was passed, giving all women in New Zealand the right to vote. On 29 November 1893, Elizabeth Yates was elected mayor of the borough of Onehunga – the first woman in the British Empire to hold such an office.

To mark the anniversary, Auckland Council Archives has put together this online timeline of the female elected representatives of the former borough, city, county, regional and district councils of the Auckland region. Images from the Auckland Council Archives collections and other sources have been included where possible.

View the full timeline or use the options to the left to specify your search criteria.

Unless otherwise stated, images in this timeline may be copied or downloaded for purposes of private study or research only. For other purposes, enquiry about copyright and reproduction rights should be made to the Auckland Council Archives.

Whilst we have endeavoured to identify all female elected representatives, it was sometimes difficult to ascertain genders of elected representatives from our sources (e.g. where only initials and surname are documented). Therefore, there may be some errors or omissions.

View larger image

Government statistics on the representation of women in local government. Despite women getting the vote so early, representation in the political arena was quite poor until very recent times. Auckland Council Archives reference: MRB 111 1-5-4