About this exhibition

Auckland Council Archives has already prepared online exhibits of the mayors of the region and the mayoral chains. In this exhibit we want to show the local government ‘spaces’ where decisions were made and the path of future history laid down. Those spaces were the Council Chambers.

There have been successive amalgamations of local government agencies across the Auckland Region starting with three highway boards amalgamating with Auckland City in 1882 to the 8 local government agencies amalgamating in 2010 to form the Auckland Council. Each of these agencies had their own meeting spaces. Currently the Auckland Council is focusing on a rationalisation of properties which will mean that those meeting spaces will no longer be used for their intended purpose.

This exhibit captures these spaces and celebrates the memory of those council chambers and the discussions, debates and decisions made in those hallowed halls of local government.

You can take a virtual tour of the legacy council chambers of Franklin District Council, Papakura District Council, Auckland Regional Council, North Shore City Council, Waitakere City Council and Rodney District Council. There are also tours of the previous Waitakere City Council chamber and the Devonport Borough Council chamber. Alongside the tours are floor plans, aerials and a brief history of the property.

How to view the images:

  • use the scroll bars on your browser to navigate the map
  • hover your mouse over the name of a council to access the virtual tour, images and background information about that property. Click on item to open it
Auckland Regional Council Chambers

Auckland Regional Council Chambers, 21 Pitt Street, Auckland 1010

Devonport Borough Council Chambers

Devonport Borough Council Chambers, 3 Victoria Road, Devonport 0624

Franklin District Council Chambers

Franklin District Council Chambers, 82 Manukau Road, Pukekohe 2120

North Shore City Council Chambers

North Shore City Council Chambers, 1 The Strand, Takapuna 0622

Papakura District Council Chambers

Papakura District Council Chambers, 35 Coles Crescent, Papakura 2110

Rodney District Council Chambers

Rodney District Council Chambers, 50 Centreway Road, Orewa 0931

Waitakere City Council Chambers

Waitakere City Council Chambers, 6 Henderson Valley Road, Henderson 0612

Waitakere City Council Chambers, 6 Waipareira Avenue, Henderson 0610

Papatoetoe City Council Chambers

Papatoetoe City Council Chambers, 35 St George Street, Papatoetoe 2025

Manukau City Council Chambers

Manukau City Council Chambers, 31-33 Manukau Station Road 2104

Auckland City Council Chambers,
Auckland Council

Auckland City Council Chambers, 301-317 Queen Street 1010

Auckland Council Chambers, 301-317 Queen Street 1010

This base map is from the Auckland Council GIS Viewer (GeoMaps).