Auckland Council Archives web banner

Borough of Newton Valuation Lists Database 1887-1888

Newton Borough Council was established in 1885. In 1887, Newton Borough was divided into three wards named Surrey, Sussex and Richmond. Newton was renamed Grey Lynn Borough in 1899. These valuation lists are for the years 1887 and 1888 and provide details regarding: occupiers - their name and occupation; a description of the property; the street name, legal description and type of building. For some properties, it is noted if they are leased or the term of the rent, i.e. weekly. Owners names are also indicated for some properties.

The database is searchable by name (occupier and owner), occupation (occupier and owner) and street. Use the Browse button to browse the contents of these fields.

This database is a full transcript of the valuation lists. For further information, please contact Auckland Council Archives Central.