Auckland Council Archives web banner

Agency Description

How to view your results:
  • click on any previous, subsequent, superior or subordinate agency to view a full description of the agency
  • click on view series (where available) to view a list of the series registered to an agency (if this link does not show, there are no series registered to the agency).

Result 1 of 1  
Agency Tamaki City Council View Series
Agency Code TMK
Date Established 1986
Date Disestablished 1989
Legislation Relevant Local Government Act 1974
Local Government Amendment Act 1988
Agency History Tamaki borough was formed through the amalgamation of Mount Wellington and Otahuhu boroughs on 19 October 1986 under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1974. The first election for mayor and twelve councillors of Tamaki Borough Council was held on 11 October 1986 and the council first met on the 22 October 1986
Tamaki borough was proclaimed a city on 28 January 1987 and the first meeting of Tamaki City Council was held on 3 February 1987
Tamaki City comprised the two wards of Mount Wellington and Otahuhu that conform to the same area as the previous two boroughs. Each ward had a separate District Scheme
Tamaki City Council held its last ordinary meeting on 26 October 1989 and was dissolved to amalgamate with other local authorities in the Auckland isthmus to form the reorganized Auckland City Council, in accordance with the Local Government Amendment Act 1988. The new Auckland City Council held its inaugural meeting on 2 November 1989
The mayor of Tamaki City Council was: Henry James Bean (1986-1989) (mayor of Mount Wellington Borough Council 1974-1986)
Sources Tamaki City Council minutes (Auckland Council Archives, TMK 100/1)
'New Zealand Gazette' (21 August 1986, p. 3518; 12 February 1987, p. 705) [available online]
Previous Agencies
MWB Mount Wellington Borough Council
OTB Otahuhu Borough Council
PAN Panmure Township Highway District Board
PTD Panmure Township Road Board
Subsequent Agencies
AKC Auckland City